Clevedon has retained its Victorian elegance and charm with the stunning pier stretching out into the sea and the many Victorian buildings that stem from its heyday as a popular seaside resort. Clevedon’s population has grown since building plots, measured out along The Beach and Hill Road, were first advertised in 1820. Before then, it had been a quiet, agricultural village. Two centuries ago, the most important buildings in the village would have been Clevedon Court, St Andrew’s Church, and Highdale Farm.
Clevedon’s playground where many residents and visitors come to relax. There’s a miniature railway, children’s playground, bouncy castle, crazy golf, tennis courts, and refreshment kiosk. Donkey rides are often available during the summer.
Clevedon Pier is one of the most important Victorian Piers in the country. The Grade 1 listed pier dates from 1869 and is recognised as one of the finest in the country and a national monument. It was constructed from eight spans made of curved Barlow rails from Brunel’s surplus material from the South Wales railway.
The Waverley paddle steamer and her sister ship, the Balmoral pleasure cruiser are frequent callers at the pier during the summer months. Take a walk along the pier and enjoy a cream tea on the pavilion, absorbing views of the Welsh coast. The Toll House comprises a gift shop and a gallery on the first floor, where the work of a number of local artists is exhibited throughout the year. The Pier and Toll House are open everyday of the year except Christmas day. A small admission fee is charged to go on the pier to help with the upkeep of the pier.
The tidal range at Clevedon is the second highest in the world, with a rise of over 47 feet from low water on Spring Tides.
WARNING ! – strong tides.
The Balmoral and The Waverley
The Waverley is the last sea-going paddle steamer in the world, magnificently restored with towering funnels, timber decks, gleaming varnish and brass. See and hear the mighty engines – they will provide a whiff of nostalgia for some and are sure to impress all.
The Balmoral is a beautifully maintained pleasure cruiser with restored period lounges and unrivalled access to the stunning scenery of some of the most picturesque parts of the UK’s coastline.
The Heritage Centre
The Heritage Centre, housed in Waterloo House on The Beach was built in 1829 by a local man, George Somerton, whose family owned it until 1926. The Grade II listed building now houses comprehensive selection of photographs and artefacts from Clevedon’s past. It also has a gift shop selling quality souvenirs and local history books. An ideal place to visit and it’s free!
Built in 1887 by William Green, the Bandstand was lit by gas and originally had no windshields, these were added later to protect bandsmen and improve acoustics. Come and listen to one of the many bands that play in the summer months June-August.
Clevedon Court is one of the oldest manor houses in England dating from the 14th century. It was built by Sir John de Clevedon incorporating parts of a 13th century tower and great hall. This once fortified manor house has now been the home of the Elton Family since 1709. The Elton’s played a large part in the development of Clevedon from a small farming community to a select Victorian resort. Through Sir Charles Elton, the poets Tennyson and Thackeray came to know Clevedon, and his grandson, Sir Edmund, was the maker and designer of Elton Ware pottery. Clevedon Court, located on Tickenham Road, displays the Elton Ware pottery collection and Elton Ware decorates the Clock Tower in the Triangle. Clevedon Court is now owned by the National Trust, it is open to the public on certain days of the week from Easter – end of September (Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday 2pm – 5pm).
Opened in 1912, Curzon cinema is the oldest, continuously operated cinema in the country, the original building had 200 seats. By the following year the building had been expanded to 389 seats, and was the first public building in the town to have electricity. The cinema was saved from closure in 1996 largely thanks to community support and is now run and owned by the Clevedon community.
For further information visit Clevedon Town Council website